Free Patterns, Pattern Spotlight

Dead Fish Hat

Every year, I face a dilemma around holiday times: what do you craft for someone who has everything? Many people in my life fall into this category, so I’ve had to learn what ways work best for dealing with this hard to gift persons.

This year, I found an excellent pattern for my grandpa for his birthday. He’s a country, small town folk sort of guy, so it was hard to think of anything practical that he’d need (crochet/knitted gloves wouldn’t suffice for his level of work.) To that end, I went with something silly instead.

Enter, the dead fish hat.

The dead fish hat in all its glory.

What I loved about this hat was the versatility. It used up some colours I wouldn’t normally use, and allowed for me to really customize it for the person I was gifting it to. Even better, it’s actually a pretty warm hat! Grandpa ended up really liking it, so that’s a bonus too.

This is a free pattern that you can find more info about on ravelry, or go directly to the pattern page through this link. Either way, if you’re looking for a quick knit to stash away for the impending holiday rush, this might be just the pattern for you! (The only thing you should check is your gauge! Mine was way off for the suggested needle size, so check that to make sure the brim is a good fit and to save yourself some stress.)

Leave a Reply

